30 Days of Python: Day 27 Traveling Electrons

I’m making a small project every day in python for the next 30 days (minus some vacation days). I’m hoping to learn many new packages and  make a wide variety of projects, including games, computer tools, machine learning, and maybe some science. It should be a good variety and I think it will be a lot of fun.

Day 27: Traveling Electrons

For today’s project, I simulated an electron moving in electric and magnet fields. I used the vpython package which is a great tool for physical simulations because it is simple to do the vector calculations in and to pair those with visible objects in a screen. Unlike the orrery project where I used a clockwork model of the system, for this project I simulated the net force on the particle. The Lorenz Force describes the force of an electric and magnetic field on a particle charge. Here’s what it looks like in code:

while True:
    F = particle.charge*(E_field.mag*E_field.axis + particle.vel.cross(M_field.mag*M_field.axis))
    accel = F/particle.mass
    particle.vel = particle.vel + accel*DT
    particle.pos = particle.pos + particle.vel*DT

Because the magnetic force on the particle is perpendicular to both the particles velocity and the magnetic field, it creates a centripetal force on the particle sending it in a circle:

Only Magnetic Field Circle

Only Magnetic Field – Circle

If the particle has a small portion of the velocity in the same direction as the magnetic field, the result is a helix in the direction of the magnetic field:

Only Magnetic Field Helix

Only Magnetic Field – Helix

If an electric field is added on top of that the helix expands in the direction of the electric field:

Electric and Magnetic Field - Expanding Helix

Electric and Magnetic Field – Expanding Helix

If the electric field points to a side then it causes drift:

Electric and Magnetic Field - Drifting Helix

Electric and Magnetic Field – Drifting Helix

I initially had a bug in my code that made all of the shapes wrong and not match my intuition. I finally spotted it and the simulation started behaving correctly. That’s a good lesson learned to really work out what a few solutions should look like before moving on to the more complex ones. I’d like to spend more time with this one and see if I can add in varying electromagnetic fields to see what I can get the electron to do!

For those that are interested, here’s my science simulations repository: https://github.com/robb07/science_sims

Leave a Reply

